Illinois Landlord Tenant Rental Laws & Rights for 2023


Fair Housing

The Fair Housing Act was created in order to ensure that everyone is treated equally during the housing process. It protects tenants from discrimination when seraching for a rental property. At the federal level the Fair Housing Act protects the following classes:

  • Race
  • Color
  • National Origin
  • Religion
  • Sex
  • Familial Status
  • Disability

Learn about fair housing at the federal level here

The Illinois Human Rights Act prohibits discrimination on the basis of

  • Ancestry
  • Age
  • Familial status
  • Marital status
  • Physical or mental handicap
  • Military status
  • Sexual orientation
  • Unfavorable discharge from military service (775 ILCS 5)

Security Deposits

  • In Illinois, like other states, security deposits are designed to prove a tenant’s financial stability and secure a payment for damaged property.
    • Most landlords in Illinois collect a security deposit that is equal to the monthly rent price. There is no limit on the security deposit amount, however. (765 ILCS 710/1)
  • If there is no reason to withhold funds prior to a tenant moving out of the property, a landlord must return the security deposit within 45 days. (765 ILCS 710/1(a)
    • If the deposit is not returned in full, an itemized list of what/how the money is being used for must be issued within 30 days of the tenant moving out. (765 ILCS 710/1)
    • If the landlord fails to return payment within this time period, the tenant is legally owed twice the amount, plus the cost of legal fees. (765 ILCS 710(c)
  • A landlord is required to pay interest on a security deposit if the rental property has over 25 units, and/or the deposit will be kept for longer than 6 months. The interest rate in the state of Illinois differs from that of Chicago, and each of these rates change yearly. Such earnings owed must be credited or paid-out to the tenant every 12 months. (765 ILCS 715/1&2)
    • If the deposit is held for more than 6 months, or the landlord owns more than 25 units in a single complex, it must be kept in a separate account.

Rent and Late fees

  • Landlords in Illinois are allowed to charge a late fee equivalent to $20 or 20% of the monthly rent amount if the tenant has still failed to pay 5 days after rent is due for self-storage units. (770 ILCS 95.7.10)
    • In Chicago, the late fee shouldn’t exceed $10 per month of rent under $500 plus 5% per month on the part of rent that exceeds $500
    • There is no required grace period for late rent, but most landlords include one to make it clear to tenants the exact day that a late fee will be enforced.
  • A tenant is allowed to withhold rent if the landlord has failed to provide essential services (water, heat, etc.) (765 ILCS 735)
  • There is no statute regarding notices for rent increases.

Notices and Entry

  • If a rental agreement is on a yearly basis, a landlord must notify a tenant 60 days prior to terminating a lease early (735 ILCS 5/9-205)
    • If the rental agreement is month-to-month, the landlord must notify the tenant 30 days prior to terminating a lease early (735 ILCS 5/9-207)
    • If the rental agreement is week-to-week, the landlord must notify the tenant 7 days prior to terminating a lease early (735 ILCS 5/9-207)
  • A landlord must notify a tenant 24 hours in advance to entering a rental unit for repairs or property showings. (735 ILCS 5/9-102) However, if there is an emergency, a landlord is not required to give notice.
    • In Chicago, a landlord must give a 48 hour notice of entry.
    • A landlord has 14 days to make a repair after a tenant has provided notice of such damages. The tenant is then allowed to have the work completed at the landlord’s expense if he/she fails to do so in this time frame. (765 ILCS 742/)


  • A landlord is required to disclose any known presence of radon, mold, asbestos, or lead paint on the property. (420 ILCS 46/25)
    • If there is a presence of lead paint in the unit or common area, the lease must include a federally-approved attachment on lead poisoning prevention.
    • In Chicago, landlords must inform tenants if there is a history of bed bugs on their property, along with a bed bug pamphlet.
  • In Illinois, a landlord must change the locks/keys in between tenants (765 ILCS 750/1). Additionally, a landlord must change them if requested by a domestic violence victim (765 ILCS 750/20)
    • The landlord is not allowed to disclose the status of a domestic violence victim to anyone (765 ILCS 750/27)
  • A landlord must provide a formula for dividing up utilities when split amongst multiple tenants (765 ILCS 740/5)
  • The rental agreement must disclose the identity of the property owner.
  • Prospective tenants are required to know if the property is currently in a foreclosure

Eviction Laws

  • When it is failure to pay rent, the tenant has 5 days to pay you otherwise the eviction notice can be filed with the courts.
  • When there is another lease violation (e.g. subletting), the tenant has 10 days to resolve the violation from the point that the eviction notice is served. Otherwise the eviction notice will be filed with the courts.

For more information on Illinois Landlord Tenant laws please visit their website here.

As the situation with COVID-19 continues to evolve, the moratorium on foreclosures and evictions will continue to impact millions of rental properties across the country. For the most up to date information on this legislation, as well as to see if your city or county has additional directives in place, please contact your local representative.

Featured Tools
Finding and Selecting the Best Tenant
For a $2,000 monthly rental: 1. You lose $1,000 if you have your rental on the market for 15 additional days. 2. You lose $1,000+ for evictions. Learn how to quickly find and select a qualified tenant while following the law.
More Tools